7/7/7 Challenge!

I honestly NEVER get nominated for anything—so huge thanks to Maddy for first doing the honors, and to everyone else who has also tagged me in this challenge! Now, with the exception of some highly amusing fanfiction from way back in the day, I’m pretty sure this is the first time I’ve posted an excerpt of anything I’ve written. For real.

Yayy

If you’ve been reading my posts you all know by now that I’ve been affectionately calling my manuscript Pirate Fantasy for the time being. I know, so original and creative. I’ve kept a lot of details under wraps about it, but to honor the challenge, here’s just a brief peek of what Pirate Fantasy is all about!

Guidelines for the 7/7/7 challenge:

  • Go to page 7 of your WIP (Work in Progress)
  • Scroll down to line 7
  • Share the next 7 sentences in a blog post.
  • After the excerpt tag 7 other writers (or however many you’re able to) to continue the challenge.

Context of the excerpt:

My 7/7/7 part unfortunately lands in an odd place, but it’s basically in the middle of a conversation between my MC and one of her sleazy clients at the brothel where she “works.” In between his drunken proposal, they drop hints about the strange sort of world they live in—and an even stranger island.

Excerpt:

Isle St. Remany was about as exotic as you could get in a circle of just six islands. No one lasted a night there without returning wrung dry of sanity, spewing crazed accounts of everything from freezing hailstorms to clouds on the ground. The girls and I often entertained ourselves with tales of the land everyone feared. Silvius wasn’t nearly as amused.

“St. Remany?” he scoffed. “No, I mean beyond the Circle.”

The word had a power which shivered through me. Beyond. He was an idiot for even suggesting it. I almost blurted it when suddenly, he grabbed my chin and pulled me toward him.

So there you have it! Thanks again for the nominations from my good writing pals Maddy, Akshaya, and Katy who have ALL completed the challenge, so be sure to check them out as well!

And since a lot of my writing friends have already been challenged, I’ll tag two other awesome ladies to join in on this crazy party as well 🙂

My nominations: Erin and Meg!

9 thoughts on “7/7/7 Challenge!

Leave a Reply

