Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers awardFirst off, how cool is this award?! Thank you so much Amanda for the nomination! Her book blog To Live a Thousand Lives is made of some seriously awesome stuff, so everyone should totally visit her there. Prepare to be amazed by alllllll of the books and recommendations 🙂

The rules are:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their site.

  2. Put the award logo on your blog.

  3. Answer the ten questions you were given.

  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.

  5. Nominate ten other blogs.

Now here are my answers:

What is the best book you’ve read this year?

Ooof, start off with the hardest one, why don’t you. The most recent one that’s screaming in my head right now is The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh! The prose is so beautiful, the romance drew me in, and I’m a sucker for anything having to do with Arabian Nights. But believe it or not, a lot of the best stories I’ve read this year have actually come through my internship where I go through a lot of manuscripts and find many gems that I adore. Querying writers, NEVER forget how fiercely talented you all are!

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go first and why?

Definitely Egypt or Greece. Ever since I was little, I’ve been obsessed with Greek and Egyptian mythology, and have always dreamed of visiting the sacred sites traced back to the myths. I’m also not embarrassed to admit that my childhood/adulthood love of The Mummy has majorly factored in to my dreams of traveling to Egypt to explore tombs and go on some badass adventures.

When you write, do you outline first or just pants it?

PANTS. I’ve always been a pantser for as long as I remember because structure and organization are just not my friends. However, I’ve started getting into the habit of loosely outlining my new WIP just because the plot has aggressively been haunting me for so long. Nevertheless, I still consider myself a pantser for the most part because I live for the magic of writing spontaneously.

When you aren’t reading/writing what do you like to do?

It’s no big secret that I watch TV in my down time (it seriously rejuvenates my creative juices). I also workout/hike/frolic in nature (for the sake of my ever-failing back), play piano and sing (mostly Disney tunes, of course), hang out with my family and friends (to prove I’m not the living definition of a hermit), and of course wine nights and Skype dates with my CPs 🙂

What TV show do you binge-watch?

Umm, all of them? Haha. My ULTIMATE binge-worthy show this year was definitely Sense8. I still get shivers from how good it is.

You can’t leave the house without ________?

Phone (because of the music), pen, and something to write on. Inspiration can strike at ANY TIME, so one must be prepared. I always bring a water bottle as well because one must also be prepared for the possibility of dehydration.

Books or e-reader?

Books. I’m one of those weirdos who likes to smell the book pages and feel the paper between her fingertips. It sounds weirdly intimate, now that I think about it.

What is a cause/social issue you care deeply about?

I’m a proud feminist who cares about mental health awareness, autism awareness, diversity in pop culture and the media (WeNeedDiverseBooks, anyone?), and SO many other things. I know, I cheated. I JUST CARE TOO MUCH.

What magical/superpower would you pick?

Because I’m lazy, I’d love the ability to teleport myself to wherever I desire in the blink of an eye. Kind of like in the movie Jumper, but without scary Samuel L. Jackson hunting me down.

What fun blogs have you found lately? (Maybe tag them in your post!) 🙂

Okay, so awkward moment: pretty much everyone I know and their grandmother have been nominated for this award, so I’m just going to leave some questions down below for anyone who wants to join in on this blog-a-palooza or simply answer in the comments below!

Questions:
1. Who’s your favorite Disney princess and why?
2. What’s a fun fact that nobody knows about you?
3. Which Hogwarts House do you belong in? (Blended House names are also acceptable)
4. What is the most surprising thing you’ve learned in your own writing process/journey to publication?
5. Which track is currently the most-listened-to song on your iTunes?
6. Given the choice, would you rather sell one huge-deal book in your entire career, or a bunch of books considered mediocre in the eyes of the public?
7. If you were given the choice of immortality, would you take it?
8. What’s the most essential part of your writing routine?
9. If you could live in any fantasy world, what would it be?
10. What’s the most valuable piece of advice from you or another author that you can give to an aspiring writer?
3 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. WRATH AND THE DAWN WRATH WRATH WRATH!!!! DYING!!!!!! DYING DYING!!!!!! And AAH!!! OMG I’m so obsessed with The Mummy!!! I LOVE that movie!! Haha, although most people I know don’t (like my friend was like, “ISN’T THAT SUPER CHEESY?”) so YAY!!! Solidarity!!! *cool people fist bump*!!!! Also, totally going to answer those questions because apparently I like answering questions :))))))))

    Like

Leave a Reply

