Real Neat Blog Award

real neat blog award

Oh boy here goes another award, another set of questions! Thank you to my good friend Maddy for nominating me for this (CP reunion TOMORROW. Can you believe it!?)! Definitely check out her badass blog titled Those Who Wander, which is chock full of nature pics, book recommendations, writing life insights, and Tolkien-esque delights. And in the very near future, I’m guessing it will also be filled with tales of our outrageous CP reunion with her, Akshaya, and me because when we three unite—chaos most definitely ensues.

Now, onto the rules:

  1. Put the award logo on your blog
  2. Answer the 7 question set by the person who nominated you and create 7 new ones
  3. Thank the people who nominated you, linking to their blog
  4. Nominate however many people you like, linking to their blogs
  5. Let them know you nominated them

The questions:

1. Which book character would you want to meet and why?

Because the Harry Potter series is SO near and dear to my heart, I’ve naturally always wanted to meet all the characters from it. The awesome, the annoying, even the evil ones. (Okay, maybe not the evil ones.)

But if I’m going to be specific and honest with myself, I’d want to meet the Marauders, pre-Harry Potter era. I wrote a glorious amount of fanfiction about them years and years ago, and pretty much only wrote about them because I loved imagining this goofy group of guys (with Lily, of course) and the laughable, crazy hijinks that ensued during their Hogwarts years before all of the darkness and tragedy afterward. What a fun bunch, they must’ve been. I had a particular obsession with James Potter. And Sirius Black. And Remus Lupin. Not Peter, for obvious reasons.

2. Which book do you wish they’d adapt into a movie or TV series?

Oooooh, this one is easy. I’m a firm advocate for making books into TV shows because it gives you so much room to play around and flesh out the material—and honestly, who wants to cram thousands and thousands of words into less than 2 hours?! I don’t know how they would ever do it, but I would LOVE to see Brian K. Vaughan’s space opera comic book Saga as a TV series. I’ve been hooked since the first volume and have always felt that its entertainment factor could translate really well on screen if someone was crazy enough to pull it off. Seriously, it has everything I love about good TV: epic premise, top-notch storytelling, fantastic characters, and humor that will make you laugh for days. I’d watch that in a heartbeat.

3. Who is your favorite author?

J.K. Rowling. Hands down. Her books gave me such a hunger for reading and the inspiration to write, and her life story always fuels me with the drive and passion to become a writer no matter what. She’s the author who helped me see what I want to do in life, and gave me the tools through her story and by being just a wonderful role model to look up to. She’s my favorite author for more than just her books. If I ever got to meet her, I would probably pass out from all of the emotions and gratitude.

4. Which Disney character would you be?

No surprise here: POCAHONTAS. If I haven’t repeated this enough times on my blog, Pocahontas is my favorite Disney princess, Disney movie, AND movie of all time. I don’t care if people throw the historically-inaccurate card; the heart of Disney’s Pocahontas is what I connect to the most. She’s fierce, independent, and knows that the best decisions are not necessarily the easiest. To me, she’s one of the realest Disney princess of them all, and is so strengthened by her story’s ending that is so different from the typical Disney fare. Words cannot express how much I love this movie, and how much I bawl my eyes out every time I see it. EVERY. TIME.

5. Do you have any pets, and if so, what?

Wellllll, I do have this adorable English Springer Spaniel named Luke a.k.a. Master Skywalker. He likes long walks, frisbee tosses, belly-rubs, and . . . okay, so he’s NOT actually my puppy. He’s my sister’s. But from all of the pictures I’ve posted of him on social media, I feel like I’ve successfully fooled a lot of people into thinking I have a dog. Oh man, I WISH. I puppy-sat him this weekend, and had a blast just running around the yard and watching him go crazy with random pine cones on the ground. I mean, JUST LOOK AT THAT FACE:

FullSizeRender 8

Master Skywalker using the Force with his eyes to make you go “awwww”

Oh yeah, and I also have these two tiny zebra finches that are terrified of everything. Technically they’re my dad’s. He named them “The Girls” and bought them around the time my sister and I went off to college to ease his empty-nest syndrome. Literally.

6. Is there any book that you would change the ending of and how if you would?

I’m not even going to touch this question. Sure, there are TONS of endings I would change for a lot of books—but as someone who is terrified of spoilers and never ever EVER subjects anyone to them, I’m keeping my mouth shut on this one.

7. What’s you idea of a perfect night in/out?

As a super boring person, a perfect night in would be me curled up with my laptop, working. BUT, with my CPs coming into town for the week, I can already foresee many wild nights in ahead of us (filled with movies, wine, and spelunking).

The questions for my nominees are:

  1. Within your writing routine, what’s the weirdest thing you do to get into the writing zone?
  2. What’s the thing that comes easiest/first to you when you start brainstorming a story? Character, plot, setting, names, title, etc?
  3. In the future of the market, what sort of genre trend are you hoping to see make it big?
  4. How do you arrange the books on your bookshelf? By title, author, color, etc?
  5. What’s the one book you constantly find yourself recommending to other people because you just lahhhve it so much?
  6. What book do you wish would be adapted into a TV series/movie?
  7. What would your Patronus be?

For these questions, I’m nominating my friend Meg, as well as anyone else who wants to answer these questions!

Leave a Reply

